More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items.

What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's world, buying things from well-known companies is getting increasingly popular. Many people do this to appear wealthy and to increase their social position. Despite the prevalence of this tendency, I believe it is a negative development that leads to problematic consumerism.

On the one hand, improving social standing along with broadening one's outlook has become the driving force of this movement. In reality, those who wear expensive clothes or drive a beautiful car tend to attract more attention and acknowledgement from others. For example, several people tend to imitate celebrities to be in the public eye. Thus, they wear acclimated brands outfits, luxurious jewelries and other high-end stuff to show their wealth.

Nevertheless, many others, however, believe that this manner is catastrophic since it encourages people to compete in order to stand out from the crowd and garner as much attention as possible. As a result, many people spend money that is superfluous and less essential for themselves, and they live to regret it. Take my friend is an emblematic example, she always purchases clothes for her virtual life. She only puts them on once to take several photos to post on social media such as facebook or instagram; and the consequence is that she is in the red in the remaining days.

In conclusion, purchasing behaviour depends on people's bias, however, I comprehensively believe that it is one of the worst trends in the present day that affects people negatively.