More people put their personal information online (e.q address, telephone number) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes , is this positive or negative development?

It is tangible that, these days, people around the world have become increasingly depending on technology, and they have been willing to put their private information online so as to assist their everyday’s communication need and personal purposes. Though, there will be a few drawbacks, I would contend it is positive progress.

On the one hand, there are various benefits of exposing private information on social networks to help ones need of socializing and banking issues. To begin with, by posting our own information to online can help us in many ways, for example, if we are doing business on social platforms such as Facebook or Instagram, the customers will be able to access to our details instantly without making a contact to us which could take a bit of time. In the past, people would have to make a phone call or send an email to partners if they wanted to have a conversation with them, thus it is utterly convenient for us to expose our private details on social media for reasonable purposes. In addition, when it comes to banking purposes, people have to put their personal details online as a requirement of the banking process. Instead of going directly to the bank to fill out the personal form, people merely need to turn on their phone and do it at home which saves a plenty of time.

On the other hand, there will be a likelihood of encroaching personal information. It is undeniable that when people make their private details publicly on social platforms, they will likely to be infringed upon their private information by those greed individuals, these people will use the other's information to satisfy their bad purposes. Given the evidence that, there were many incidents occurred in the past, when an individual's information being used illegally by a third party or a hacker, whatever its purposes for advertisement or deceitfulness. The individual that being targeted would be constantly disturbed either by telephone or message, which they had no idea that they were exploited and infringed upon their private lives.

In conclusion, despite some minor negative effects, I would like to reiterate by saying that the tendency of putting our personal information online will do wonders for us.