More young people in the workforce change their jobs or careers every few years. What are the reasons for this? Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

It has become very common that an increasing number of young adults have been never stopping switching their jobs in recent years. One of the reasons may be that they are not satisfied with their current situation and this change may bring the following defects and merits. Personally, I believe that it has more disadvantages than advantages.

The young generation keeps changing jobs mainly because they are more willing to embrace more challenges. Remaining in the same environment with repeatedly doing the same work would not challenge them at all, whereas entering a new workplace represents that young people need to grasp new skills and knowledge. If an IT engineer switches to marketing work, he or she has to be familiar with marketing and sharpening interpersonal skills, which had no association with his or her expertise. Therefore, this transition provides them with opportunities to facing and take up new tough challenges.

A typical drawback of frequently changing jobs for these young adults is the possibility of jeopardizing their job prospects. This is because constant job changing may give employers the impression that these young employees might work for them temporarily and thus they tend to suspect these young workers’ loyalty and they would not have enough trust of putting those who may quit the job in the next second at an essential position. In this way, those young staff may lose the possibility of fulfilling their potentials and getting promoted.

Admittedly, keeping moving from job to job would enable young job hoppers to gain more employment experience, which means working in different companies may allow them to gain different perspectives to deal with the same work. However, switching from different working environments also means the young need to deal with the adaption of new environments and restart building network with new colleagues again and again, which may make them feel exhausted. Overall, the disadvantages of changing jobs outnumber the advantages.