Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate.

It is true that a vast majority of transnational corporations have gained popularity in the new era. These companie, therefore, should be responsible for not only environmental but also social-related prolems in countries where they have operated.

On the one hand, there is no point in denying that international companies which have set up branches in many nations should have the responsibility with environment where they operate companies. Especially with those firms have the production lines that produce numerous environmentally harmful industrial waste such as oil or steel manufactering factories. These large worldwide enterprises, therfore, must install waste treatment systems to address waste, either biodegradable or non-biodegradable, prior to discharging directly into environment. Otherwise, they would inevitably have encountered public opinions as well as severe punishment from state governments where they disposed of these waste.

Apart from the environmentally responsible manners, those international corporations should also be liable for social issues of the nations they have operated. Firstly, they should create more job opportunities, whereby the unemployment could be coped with and no loner be a headache for the host nations, especially in developing countries like Vietnam. Samsung, for example, has provided a variety of jobs for Vietnamese inhabitants, ranging from specialists to electronic workers with lower educational degree. Moreover, they could also take part in philanthropic actions such as providing humanitarian relief to severe flooding regions or underprivileged families.

In conclusion, I believe that giant corporations should hold the responsibility for both social and environmental aspects in countries, where they set up.