Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although the life quality of people is better and better compared to the past, humankind still does not care about the way in which their food has been manufactured. In contrast, food expense is the first priority in their mind. I totally agree with this argument and this essay will then address some factors which affect people when they buy food.

Nowadays, numerous people do not allocate a large amount of their budget for food simply because it does not their priority. Most of their budget is used for education, accommodation and luxury goods. A lot of people only consume some kinds of food at an economical price in order to save their money and just spend more on some special occasions such as their offspring’s birthday or their wedding anniversary. Furthermore, there are plenty of people who are too busy with their duties to made home-cooked food, so they have to eat a ready-made meal which they can not check ingredients as well as how it is made.

I suppose that there are four elements which affect people when they buy food including price, quality, location and hygiene and factor accounting for the minor interest of people is hygiene. In fact, plenty of researches indicate that it has a strict relationship between food hygiene and the well-being of people, hence, processed food is not safe and hygienic can pose a serious threat to human health and lead to various health issues such as cancer. On the contrary, the safety of food preparation will reduce dangerous effects on human health.

In conclusion, I believe that food hygiene has equal importance with other factors when people buy food and our community must get involved in working towards a world where everyone has enough safe and nutritious food.