Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, the question of whether the meaning behind traditional festivals is losing or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although some only want to enjoy themselves during these days, the majority remain the traditions of their countries or religions.

There are several reasons why people believe that festivals are occasions for them to enjoy themselves. First, since citizens are occupied with a substantial volume of work these days, they tend to stay home during festival periods. In fact, national festival days could be days off for people to take a break as they have devoted their time and energy to daily work to get promotions and earn higher salaries, which discourages people to participate in these occasions. Second, with the development of technology, people, particularly youngsters, tend to glue their eyes to screens to get a sense of relaxation. For example, motions and attractive effects performed on Tv will be more appealing to young generations than going outside and sitting in traffic for hours during these days. Therefore, the awareness of the traditions of people may disappear gradually.

Nevertheless, most individuals also tend to enjoy the national cultures beside themselves. In most countries, people still preserved traditions by taking part in traditional festivals. For instance, Tet plays an important role in Vietnamese culture, and customs on this occasion have remained over generations. During Tet periods, the Vietnamese refurbish their houses, pay a visit to relatives and make the best wishes to one another, and children receive red envelopes from older generations. We could also see how Western people celebrate annual Easter days with turkeys together. Therefore, those imply that people still aware of preserving traditions despite the hectic pace of life.

In conclusion, although some people mainly want to enjoy themselves during festivals, others opt to celebrate these days with their families. By understanding the reasons for these celebrations, people could preserve cultures in the modernized world.