Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Throughout thousands of historic years, our ancestor had created a great deal of traditional festivals for numerous reason, especially emphasizing the ethnic solidarity. However, youngsters currently do not put this in their mind and have the tendancy of self-enjoyment in crucial festivals. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this attitude to the traditional customs.

One of the main arguments against this is that the conventional holidays are occasions for people to gather with their family and friends as well. For instance, there are various people who settle down abroad for studying or working. Therefore, Tet holiday is the time for them to come back their own country and visiting their parents and relatives. Moreover, the people who travel back from foreign country could relieve their homesickness and the stress after a long-term period of going by themselves. Parents could give them a strong affection and refresh their soul.

On the other hand, taking part in traditional festivals, the young people could broaden their horizons about their home country’s customs and preserves their ethnic characteristics. This is the knowledge which is only passed over by the elderly in the relatives and even is hardly accurate in the Google information. The young also advertise their nation’s images all over the world so as to bring the country’s position on global scale. This more or less contributes to the country’s economy, politics or science, for example.

In conclusion, tradition plays a key role in human culture which should not be eradicated by the ignorance of modern people and should be encouraged to keep in protection as an immaterial value.