Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

Any given society has a certain amount of the homeless population, and it is thought by some to help them out by giving money to them. I completely agree with this argument as I believe that donating money helps them to afford for accommodation and come out of abject poverty.

Firstly, money is the only way for homeless people to get proper shelter. Being unaffordable to buy a house or to rent one is the main reason for people to live on streets, so some donations, either from what we have or the government has, enable them to save their earnings in a period of time and pay for a home. The billionaire Bill Gates, for instance, donated half his money to Europe’s homeless people, which later reduced the number of people living on roads in Europe significantly.

Secondly, donating money helps them to come out of abject poverty. Most of the homeless people live under extreme debts or without any job since they are stuck in a vicious circle of earning that is far less in proportion to their bare minimum expenses. This is why giving some amount of money may help them to come out of that poverty circle. In the Netherlands, the government pays 50 dollars a month of every homeless individual for one year, during which they can try to earn and save some money. Thus, the money given to the poor people residing in open public spaces may reduce the insult they receive from their intense poverty and start to save money.

In conclusion, homeless people are present in every single society, and some believe in donating money as the best way to help them. I also believe that donated money alone can take care of their expenses and makes them save their earnings to find accommodation and escape poverty.