Most Societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money.

To what extent do you agree?

Homeless individuals exist in many societies, a number of people believe that giving them money is the most effective method to assist them. While I agree that aiding people without homes with money has its advantages, however, it also has its disadvantages.

Firstly, the giving of alms or charity to people who are in need of it is a great way to promoting peaceful coexistence in society, moreover, crime is said to reduce when homeless people are satisfied. To Illustrate, a popular newspaper carried the story of how crime rates have increased due to an increasing number of people without homes and unemployed persons. A homeless person was arrested while trying to rob a store for food, he kept on screaming “I only want to eat”. This particular crime probably ought not to happen if he had been assisted with money to get food. Furthermore, the importance of assisting people in need of money with money cannot be overemphasized.

Contrarily, assisting destitute persons with money can also cause an unnecessary sense of entitlement on the homeless person part, they start seeing it compulsory to always receive help from people, this money is eventually used in purchasing hard drugs, whereas, they can go out and look for jobs to help them with money so they can get their homes back. For example, a vagrant decided to change the course of his life by using the money given to him by strangers to appear clean and apply for minimum wage jobs, he got a job at Mcdonalds' this slowly got his life back together subsequently getting an apartment. On the contrary, a homeless man who used this money to buy hard drugs will continue being without a place to live.

In conclusion, giving alms to people without homes is the most effective way to help them, while this may be true, there are also downsides to this.