n some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison.

Do you agree or disagree?

*compulsory work helping the community, such as decorating public facilities, which they must carry out in their spare time for a given period.

A person has to shoulder a responsibility of his or her punishable actions including crimes committed by him or her. The liability should be proportionate to the extend of unlawful activity and the authorities must take marital and social status of accused person when they decide the type of punishment. Even if the laws make it possible not to send criminals to prisons, but to coerce them to carry out social tasks given by specific state organs. Hence, main question arise: how far is it justifiable under the demands of victims and society?

On the one hand, all people should not be sent to detentions centers without drawing a line between serious and less serious crimes charged to them. In that case, the principle of social justice may be denied and the community will face more dramatic tragedies. In contrast, persons who did not commit heavy and repeated crime should be demanded to undertake community service and therefore, they can be made adaptable to society and its common values rather than fighting against fundamental obligations of a citizen.

On the other hand, nobody can guarantee that the same people will not commit crime again unless they are seized. Additionally, it must be taken into account the intention of the victims who suffers as a result of unlawful acts of those persons. If the judge release criminals or does not restrict their freedom of movement, at least, this attitude can lead to creation of the impunity which can cause to increase of crime rate among the population.