Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that experimenting on animals is one of the most popular methods for developing a new medicine and testing its safety before administering on human. Some people express their preferences on this strategy due to its benefits to humanity, while others concern about the moral issues involving the process. I personally gravitate towards the first opinion.

On the one hand, medical experiments on animals might raise moral concerns in the society and negative impacts on the biodiversity. Opponents to this medical strategy, especially animal-protection activists, would argue that people have no right to put any species on the verge of suffering from drug testing. It is reasonable to think that we, the human, live in the world that all living species are equally important to keep the balance of biodiversity. In addition, I personally think that it would be morally wrong if we make any test on domestic animals such as dogs or cats because they have been considered as human’s fiends, and in some cases even family members for a hundred of years. However, in reality, the experiments are only applied for some particular animals such as mice and monkeys and the testing procedures are carefully designed to avoid unnecessary traumas causing to the test subjects. Trials on animal can sometimes be cruel, but it can be justified by reducing the medical risk for human.

On the other hand, trials on animal evidently bring about various benefits to humanity. Firstly, any medical product needs to be tested before administrate on people to ensure its safety. If scientists cannot do experiments on animals, they have to try it on human, which is morally worse. Secondly, trials on animals are faster and cheaper in comparing with testing on human. This fact leads to the reduction on the cost of new medication, which allows more people to access to medical support, especially the underprivileged. Finally, if the reliable alternatives to animal experimentation are not available, a certain amount of suffering on animals could be justified as human lives are saved.

In conclusion, using medical experiments on animals for the sake of humanity is always a hot debate in terms of animal rights and moral concerns; however, I personally think that the benefits of this method outweigh its drawbacks.