Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a fact that the demonstration of the effectiveness of chemicals based on undertaking animal testing becomes more and more popular. Although a part of the community completely approves due to its benefit to society, the others vote to suspend the abuse of this method since it is an unforgivable sin. From a personal perspective, responsibility towards this problem should be shouldered by the government.

It can not be denied that most commercial use is based on the successful testing on animals. Obviously, animals used in research, such as rats, are small, exist in a large number, and reproduce quickly, so, their death due to a failed testing can not cause an imbalance in the society or ecosystem. Besides, having the structure of a living body such as hearts or lungs, dissimilar to unlike flora, enables fauna to respond to chemicals’s effect, which will produce results faster and less risky than testing on humans. For instance, if rats are dead while examining for Covid 19 vaccine, vivisectionists can do research again without any difficulty in finding new testing objects. In contrast, were the vaccine to fail while testing on the human body, scientists would be criticized by society.

On the other hand, nowadays there has been a growing concern among countries over whether they should ban animal experiments because of their drawback. It is widely accepted that although animals are living bodies, they are different from the human body in physiological, biochemical, and metabolic ways. In this regard, successful medicine tested on animals may cause pernicious effects on humans such as shock or even death. On top of that, failure arising from those experiments can lead to genetically modified organism which can show a pathogenic or infectious potential, as depicted in science fiction. As this happens, humanity will be heading for the most terrible catastrophe that we have ever seen.

In conclusion, performing laboratory testing on animals is neither human nor vain, but a peculiar mixture of construction and destruction. Innovation would have died out if it had not been for the death of those animals.