Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In present-day society, the ongoing intention about the importance of animals testing has been in discussion among humans and animals. There are advocators who support the cruel role of this act whilst the opponents are not favored using animals for research. In my opinion, although I believe that animals testing reserves a vital part in medical developments, people should have animal rights.

On the one hand, it is widely acknowledged that animals experimentation has been beneficial to humans in different ways. First of all, animal research is a necessary measure and the only safe way to save human lives. In other words, this research has saved and improved the lives of millions of people. People have probably all benefited from vaccines and antibiotics to prevent and treat infections, and anesthetics used in all forms of surgery. Furthermore, animals often make better research subjects than the human being because of their shorter life cycles. Laboratory mice, for example, live for only two to three years, so researchers can study the effects of treatments or genetic manipulation over a whole lifespan, or across several generations, which would be infeasible using human subjects. Mice and rats are particularly well-suited to long-term cancer research, partly because of their short lifespans.

On the other hand, the downsides of animal experiments are indispensable. It is true that animals testing is cruel and inhumane. It really depends on how the animals are being tested, a simple psychology experiment is different from giving an animal a disease or a tumor. According to the animal experiment procedures, animals used in experiments are commonly subjected to force-feeding, forced inhalation, killing by carbon dioxide, neck-breaking, or others means. It is unfair and hateful to the animals. Besides, animal lovers suppose that if the problem is towards humans then humans should solve it themselves. In facts, More lives could be saved and suffering stopped by educating people on the importance of avoiding fat and cholesterol, reducing smoking, alcohol and other drug consumption, exercising regularly and cleaning up the environment than by all the animal tests in the world.

In conclusion, if the researcher had another choice, they would not test on animals. And people should have a wider concern for the well-being of all animals.