Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people 's lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days consumer goods have gained much significance in our lives since growing consumerism has become a function of our society. This essay will argue that this development has more drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that giving consumer items utmost importance in our lives is advantageous. First, they improve the quality of life making it easier, more comfortable and convenient as it would be hard to imagine our everyday lives without consumer durables and technology. Second, it is no surprise that in this era of materialism, one can earn respect and enjoy high social status when they purchase latest models of things, brand new clothes, fancy cars and so forth to have some certain superiority. Third, the increasing need for consumer items make people work and strive hard to earn for payment, and thus, strengthen both individuals and businesses.

On the other hand, this urging desire for buying goods, luxury and extravagance is not as beneficial as it may seem. The more people become materialistic, the faster they deprive of moral and human values. More often, they tend to enjoy the presence of things rather than people. Besides, making consumer needs as a top priority means high pressure, stress or even rising levels of personal debts that can result from excessive buying. Again, this could also lead to health and psychological problems since most of the time, such people have all necessities but no peace of mind. But, on the top of that, the production and consumption of commodities requires the use of natural resources, running factories and mass production which can be the cause environmental concern.

In conclusion, consumer goods have an integral part in our lives, however, considering presented views, I would say that this dependence poses more dangers than benefits.