Nowadays families do not usualy eat meals together. Why? and is this a negative or positive development?

Back in the day, meals were considered precious moments for all family members to gather around. Nonetheless, the undeniable fact puts forward that there has been a tendency for individuals living in accommodations to have feasts separately. Indubitably, this practice contains both benefits and drawbacks, but from my perspective, the flaws totally prevail over the advantages, thus making the habit a negative trend.

I believe there are two causes for this disposition. This is first and foremost because of the lack of time. To be precise, most family members are engaged in some unavoidable work at each mealtime. For example, the children might have to be at their school during the family’s breakfast, and most family members have their food at their respective places of work or study at lunch. The only time they are available together these days is at dinner, and at that period, some family members might still be at work. Another reason why this happens is because of the growing popularity of fast, convenience, or junk food. Family members now have the option of instant food delivery system, and they do not necessarily leave their stomachs empty to wait for mealtime. For instance, the mentioned food delivery system is efficient enough to serve food even at midnight, and believe it or not, at that time, customers have the privilege of choosing from a range of options.

Melancholy as it is, the habit of eating separately can lead to several disadvantageous developments for them. First of all, a lot of households have their own preferences for ingredients, flavor, and cooking. If truth be told, when the family assembles for the meals, the habitual repetition is constantly maintained. However, when individuals possess distinctive time of eating, this quotidian biological routine might suffer negative changes as the family members are discouraged from preparing meals. This then triggers a bad habit of eating improperly, resulting in detrimental effects on health. Secondly, gathering around for feasts is also a way to connect people and to release the stress that was bottled up during the day since one can let others know about the incidents that happened. Hence, without this daily activity, neither don’t they have anyone to confide in nor possess the ability to seek someone to empathize with them when encountering hardship. As a result, this can make individuals feel very isolated and raise their vulnerability to mental health problems.

In conclusion, it is obvious that the two major reasons behind the decline in the frequency of family meals are lack of time and changing lifestyle. Consuming food together plays a crucial role in well-being and mental health, and these long-term effects can clearly outweigh the slight convenience of eating separately. Thus, gathering around the table for dinner should be trained into a regular habit so that everyone can be healthy not only physically but also mentally.