Nowadays, food travels thousands of miles before reaching consumers. It affects the agriculture and economy of the destination country, and for this reason, people should prefer food produced by local farmers.

Do you agree or disagree?

I think that people can undoubtedly help agriculture in their counties by purchasing food grown by local farmers. If they prefer locally produces food items over imported food products, individuals who cultivate different crops would benefit more. Therefore, state agriculture would expand significantly and food would be available to almost everyone in a particular country at an affordable price. For example, people in many parts of India only consume food produced on their own lands and this is the key reason why the growth of agriculture in India is booming these days.

Moreover, the national economy would boost if maximum numbers of people consume only local food products. The more people would spend on food products of their region, the more money would go to the national government and ultimately country’s economy would grow as the money spent on local food will remain in the particular country. In 2017, for instance, the Indian economy raised by 5% due to increased consumption of local food by Indians.

In conclusion, I altogether support the idea that the farming business and economy of the individual nation would grow drastically if greater numbers of people from that country consume majorly food products cultivated by local farmers.