Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, along with the development of technology, there have been different opinions toward the role as well as the importance of doctors. Some people having health issues prefer alternative curing methods to hospitals. From my perspective, this is a harmful phenomenon due to its limitations.

Granted, such alternative medicines or treatments are not sounding solutions for health problems. This is based on the fact that a multitude of companies nowadays manufactures mass pill production with inappropriate ingredients and then even fake their functions in order to gain lucrative interests. Therefore, customers lacking fundamental medical knowledge are likely to consume those detrimental drugs, thereby even rendering their status worse. For example, in 2020, Hanoi policemen detected a case in which a factory called Mai Vu fooled 100 patients with 200 million VND for a type of cancer remedy that contained toxin substances inside. Obviously, the drawback of this trend cannot be overlooked.

Another reason to support my assertion is that this development can have a significant impact to both the medical and pharmaceutical industries. The roles of doctors and nurses are being superseded by other alternative means of cure. In other words, they are likely to lose their job opportunities. Therefore, the unemployment rate would increase and the whole society has to face with a problem with the future workforce. Considering Japan for example. Until 2022, there has been a decline by 10% in the proportion of pharmacists needed in a certain region due to the healthcare methods at the home of inhabitants.

In conclusion, albeit having some benefits, alternative drugs and treatments can not replace the existing role of doctors, nurses, or pharmacists regarding its limitations.