Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays it is easier to be given a credit card, and there is not any trouble with it when the owner has enough money in the bank account for paying the things that he is buying.

I think of the credit card as a financial product that a company is selling you, and it has its advantages. The major one is that a credit line allows people to afford for things that cost more than the total amount of money available in their bank account. This can be very helpful in many situations. To illustrate this I could describe a situation in which someone is far away from home, and his cash has been stolen or misplaced. With a credit card he could afford a hotel, a flight ticket or whatever he needs to return home, even if he has no money in his bank account. Of course, this service has costs, that are the taxes for having the credit card and the interest rate for the money he borrowed, that will have to be returned.

On the other hand, there is the problem related to those who are not able to manage their own money. They often buy more things that they can afford, just because their credit card let them do it. These situations do often ends with the economic bankruptcy of the card holder.

In conclusion, I think that the advantages a having a credit card outweigh the disadvantages for those who are able to manage their money, and the contrary is the case to those that expend more money that they already have.