Nowadays more people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Working alone or for a firm has been a hot topic for debate in today’s world. Some people think that being self-employed is better than to work for a company. This essay discusses the merits and demerits of both the cases.

Working in a company or being self-employed depends on the person. Many people find working alone to be a better option. Self-employment has its own merits. It allows the person to act according to oneself and does not have time constraints. One can freely apply their ideas and does not need approvals form the higher officials. Study shows people find regular office hours quite exhausting and leads to mental pressure. Working in an organisation leads to constant competition among colleagues and further leads to mental breakdown. The corporate culture is quite static and people find it mundane. So, most people have affinity towards self-employment.

On the other hand, working in a corporate sector ensures stability and discipline. People believe that working in an organisation not only keep the employees in check but also leads to personal development as they are required to work in team. Having a job in an organisation ensures stability and also helps at the time of retirement. For instance, during the time of corona though the companies were not working employees were getting some amount of salary. This ensures security during difficult time and also instills a sense of integrity in employees.

To sum it up, the decision to work independently or for a company depends on the nature of the person. If a person avoids taking risks and believes in playing safe, working in a company is the favourable choice for him. People who believe in themselves and are willing to take risk have inclination towards self-employment. In my opinion, both the choices have their own pros and cons and it depends on the person which way to go with.