Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

It is true that more and more robots are taking care of household tasks and work in today's society. In my opinion, despite a number of inconveniences, this trend should be considered as a very welcome development.

On one hand, critics of having artificial intelligence can handle all the people's workload tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, there is a worry that bartenders, bricklayers, cooks, and especially factory workers may find themselves unemployed with the rise of robot workers. For instance, manual workers are often replaced by automated machines due to their lack of accuracy which can affect the whole production line. Another compelling reason is that individuals tend to depend on robots to do almost everything in their lives so they will not have the motivation to discover or learn new skills. As a result, they end up not keeping up with the times and gradually get left behind.

On the other hand, in spite of the downsides given above, I believe that this trend should be considered as progress. The primary reason is that it helps people who hold a lot of housework chores and work at the same time, so having artificial intelligence machines to assist them with a small number of their daily tasks can reduce their time from doing meaningless work. To illustrate, the technological revolution in the home started with the introduction of labor-saving appliances such as washing machines, dishwashers, etc. Furthermore, employees can develop their knowledge and do other jobs to make a proper living while robots are getting all the work done in time.

In conclusion, I believe that although it can have a negative impact on the human workforce, robots will be a positive addition to people’s life since they can minimize the danger and reduce the time spent on tasks both in households and at work with reasonable trade-offs.