Nowadays people are living in a “thrown-away” society where they use things for a short time and then throw them away. What cause this and problems it may lead to?

These days, consumers have gotten into the habit of using a product for a short time before disposing of it away, and this tendency is a major concern for all countries. Various reasons leave behind and I think that the main result of this trend is degraded environmental awareness and the help of mass media.

There are several causes explaining why consumers throw products away for a short time. First and foremost, it can be seen that it is a consumerism strategy of companies and businesses when they take advantage of the development of technology and the exploitation of mass media to advertise their products. They also produce mass goods that are low quality and inexpensive to encourage people to buy more to increase their sales. As a result, people can purchase affordable but not durable items. For instance, children’s toys are easily fragile after falling twice or three times, so their parents may buy new ones in lieu of mending or recycling. Furthermore, humans have a higher standard of living nowadays, so they are willing to spend money on what they need without environmental awareness and product function.

It seems to me that the main results of overconsuming and thrown-away products are wasting habits, overconsumption, and environmental degradation. Firstly, consumers may develop the habit of wasting which leads to a crisis in balancing their finances. Many teens are being burdened with thousands of dollars in credit card debt for their unnecessary purchases, which could lead to depression and anxiety. Nevertheless, discharging non-biological products can cause harm to our environmental quality when the more rubbish people throw away, the more affected environment suffers from. Due to the excessive production of disposable goods, huge amounts of hazardous waste are being discharged into the environment, which directly contaminates soil and water.

To conclude, throwing away products after using them for a short time is creating tremendous issues in our society. This essay discussed how a lack of awareness among users and high prices of goods gives birth to pollution and puts water animals in danger.