Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

There is a quote that respect for food is respect for life. However, there seems to be evidence that the majority of modern citizens are consuming victuals from restaurants and stores in a particularly wasteful way. From my perspective, this worrisome phenomenon resulted from several causes and several actions can be taken to diminish the quantities of food which is being thrown away

To begin with, there is a variety of explanations for the wastage of foods bought from shops and eating houses. One fundamental justification is that the amount of food purchased by modern citizens is superfluous. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that people these days have a tendency to buy more food than the actual amount they can take in. Therefore, a bunch of residuals are being dumped on a regular basis. By the way of exemplifying, numerous buffet customers with eyes are bigger than their stomach, thereby, picking up an excessive amount of food. Another reason that is worth mentioning is due to the food discount from stores with the aim of attracting the customer. Consequently, people tend to buy more food during sales and stock up on unused foods, which often end up being thrown away, in their home

Unfortunately, there is no magic bullet for this problem. Nevertheless, there are some solutions that should be taken into consideration. The first and foremost would be to raise public awareness about the importance of food through educational systems or television programmes. A straightforward but effective measure is broadcasting documents about underdeveloped nations suffered from undernourishment. In the second place, leftover foods can be collected and processed with the aim of being a meal for the miserable ones such as the poor or homeless people

In conclusion, the excessive amount of food purchased from shops and restaurants together with the discount of victuals is the major culprit of the wastage of food. Then, some effective solutions that can be taken are to raise public awareness about the value of food as well as food recycling for the poor