Nowadays some people think that public libraries are not necessary, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion and examples.

With the rapid development of digital technology, there is a popular opinion that public libraries should no longer exist. However, some people claim that they are still necessary and will never disappear. Both viewpoints require a closer consideration before formulating my perspective on this issue.

Firstly, those who support the opinion that libraries are not needed may have the following reasons. Thus, in the era of the Internet, people have unrestricted access to information in general and books in particular through countless online depositories and websites, which has reduced the number of visitors to libraries. As a matter of fact, libraries can provide only a limited number of books or media and cannot compete with the Internet that has much wider collections of resources on merely any topic.

However, the proponents of libraries put forward various important arguments toward preserving physical libraries. One of them is the fact that libraries often contain rare or ancient books that have not been digitized and can only be found in a traditional paper-based form. Moreover, a public library should be seen as a quiet area that is used by students and researchers in order to carry our their studies, thereby making a library a perfect knowledge hub.

To conclude, although contemporary public libraries have been losing popularity among general public due to the advent of online technology, their purpose to keep unique and ancient resources, as well as to serve as an ideal learning environment, can hardly be overestimated. I therefore believe that public libraries should continue existing.