Nowadays there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people opine that news related to various issues and emergencies is detrimental to viewers or readers and to society. I partly agree with this opinion because I admit that these news media have negative effects on people's mental state. However, I also accept that they would reduce damage from natural phenomena and equip people with preventative measures.

On the one hand, the main reason why I believe that news about negative aspects of society does more harm than good is because they have an adverse impact on individual perception. For example, the news about terrorism and war has become so common in the media that some people are likely to hesitate to travel abroad for fear of a terrorist attack. Additionally, overwhelming coverage of bad news motivates people to misunderstand society's problems. For example, 14Channel has always focussed on exploiting the scandals of celebrities which was inadequate evidence, can mislead the public into believing in the flaws of the Vietnamese showbiz.

On the other hand, there are still some reasons why I support the notion that focussing on negative issues and emergencies might be advantageous in some way. Firstly, the media often reports the emergent news would minimize the loss from natural disasters. When residents, especially people being in danger are pre-informed about storm attacks or earthquakes, they can take corresponding actions to stay safe. Secondly, inhabitants would be cautious to protect themselves from crime or murderer. They do not walk alone late at night on the dark streets or they are aware of meticulously locking all their doors and windows before leaving home.

In conclusion, media reports on problems and emergencies can be informative for those who might be concerned, but the disadvantages are much stronger if the media focus too much on reporting those stories. Given this situation, producers of the news are recommended to modify the contents of the news so that it becomes more educational.