Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand To what extent do you agree or disagree

Increased global power requirement can be met by using nuclear power. I personally agree with this perspective on account of sustainability and zero environmental damage.

The materials used to produce nuclear energy such as Uranium and Plutonium are easily found in abundance in the earth. In other words, it is highly unlikely that people run out of these raw materials although they extract them regularly from the ground. In contrast, non-renewable energy resources, such as coal, fossil fuel and petroleum, are scarce, therefore, we cannot solely depend on them in the future. Moreover, renewable energy, such as biomass energy, geothermal energy, solar and wind power, is not reliable due to seasonal and even daily changes. Thereby the sustainability is highest in nuclear power so that world can reliably rely on this option.

In addition to the sustainability, nuclear reactors produce clean or low-carbon energy, which is the fact that makes the nuclear power environmentally friendly. In contrast to coal power plants, nuclear power stations do not emit greenhouse gases, which are responsible for the climate change. Were people to build more nuclear reactors, environmental pollution can be minimized. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University in which they claim that air pollution would be reduced by 75% if all countries switched to nuclear power.

In conclusion, nuclear power generation is a better alternative choice in order to supply world’s increasing demand for energy. Abundance of resources is a positive fact about this option, while production of clean-energy is the best thing about it.