Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

University students directly enter into the country’s work force after graduation. Therefore, some hold that they should be given a specific education, which is needed to perform a certain task as an employee, whereas, others believe in ordinary university courses, where they gain a general knowledge about an area. As today’s industries are highly competitive for workers and demand particular skills, Specific education is the best, but the general idea of a subject may sometimes be useful as well.

Specialized students start their career with a competitive edge, which secures a job without an extra effort, because their study plan was tailor made for the current job market. Not only they secure a high-tier job, but it also enables them to perform at a higher proficiency level and thereby, please the employer while increasing the productivity of the company. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that the performance of focused workers is always higher than workers whom were delivered a traditional syllabus at universities. However, specialization sometimes has drawbacks thereof in rare situations.

Keeping above in mind, were a professional to switch his job, situation would be more difficult for him than to a unfocused worker. Some may argue that he will not be able to find a job and will fail to perform at a new work place although he finds one. However, I believe that they have a greater ability to adjust for any industry because they were trained to focus one thing at a time. In addition to that, previous work experiences will definitely support them to perform their tasks at a professional level. That being said, having some superficial knowledge about other subjects may offer them an additional advantage in this sort of situation.

In conclusion, focused curriculum gives students a chance to secure higher professions and to perform well; they thereby experience a good quality of life. However, in addition to main study area, it would be a good idea for universities to give them a very superficial knowledge on other areas in view of giving them more confidence to face rare difficulties that may arise in the future.