Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a common belief that universities are the shortest way to success and stable lives, as they have numerously enabled people to have compelling credentials and experience for their dream jobs. Yet some other people claim that the fundamental purpose of a university is to entirely focus on its own, regardless of students' needs. Therefore, the core function of a university will be detailed for some reasons below.

First, the first universities were ideal environments for students to intensively study main departments related to some issues of comtemporary society. Nowadays, inheriting their old core values, modern universities and colleges have become the main institutions to equip employees with the necessary skills and knowledge. They themselves are considered the most convenient way to get a job for some people. Otherwise, there would be such a real challenge to be properly self-equipped for a career.

Second, many current universities and colleges have been established and used as job centers since their main function is just to follow the trend and ignore the traditional values that a university should have. Yet an educational institution's outstanding uniqueness is derived from its unchangeable identity over time. For example, the reason why numerous students around the world are always willing to enroll in Cambridge University, despite its strict requirements, is not its various trendy departments, but its historic reputation. Since it was founded for the English royals in 1209, this university has become one of the most attractive institutions for students looking to have an outstanding resume.

In summary, I believe that the main function of a university is to instruct and teach students who find its educational approach suitable for their own needs. Therefore, students will be well-equipped for their own future careers as well as their schools' sake, which is highly respected.