Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

As one of the obvious implications of globalization, children have been encouraged to learn new languages besides their mother tongue at very young ages. Therefore, many people claim that the best period for pupils is at primary level, while the opposite side chooses the secondary level instead. From my perspective, both views, with their pros and cons, will be discussed below.

To begin with, many studies on children's language competence have shown that their ability to learn languages will gradually decline over time. Hence, it is a common belief that the most ideal age is from 4 to 9, as children at this period are highly sensitive to different sounds and words. In fact, they are totally able to handle more than one language without being properly aware of it. However, it would be slightly troublesome if parents wanted to boost their children's competence, for the amount of knowledge would be under control and ineffectively acquired. Although primary students can excel in language skills, if their parents were to be too demanding of them, it would almost certainly result in unexpected counter-interaction.

On the other hand, secondary students seem to be more mature than they were a few years ago. In comparison, teenage pupils are more conscious of languages' importance than the younger ones. Therefore, at this age, they are able to understand a variety of aspects of languages at a more sophisticated level, as their competence limit is much expanded. Yet one of the drawbacks is that they will find learning new languages unbearable since there are numerous subjects at school that they need to cope with. It can lead to unnecessary stress and depression for teenage children if learning schemes are not logically planned.

In summary, I firmly believe that children should learn new languages at very young ages since it can be a time-saving plan for the future. Actually, the plan to learn them should be moderately approved by caring parents so that their children can perform as much as possible.