Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Post-high school education is widely believed to be free for everyone regardless of financial situation, which the government is totally in charge of. From my perspective, I certainly disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons, which will be discussed below.

It is undeniable that university is the most common way to get a better life for many people, but personally, I do not think it is the only way to achieve it. In fact, there are many other choices after high school graduation aside from university, such as vocational schools, trade schools, and technical schools. They provide a short-term training course for high school students, and then the new workers can join the job market afterwards without wasting four years or more on universities. Moreover, I believe that if people have a chance to do whatever they want to, they can be more creative in the field they choose. Actually, many successful people around the world are the ones who dropped out of college. For example, Kanye West attended both the American Academy of Art and Chicago State University, but he pursued his career in rap, music production, and fashion without a university degree.

It is worth noting that free universities and colleges are truly a great burden on the national economy. Firstly, it is clear that the government budget has been allocated for such areas as healthcare and public transportation. As a result, more unnecessary taxes would be laid on people over maintaining post-high school education if it was free. Furthermore, the more people with a post-university degree there are, the less chance there is for them to get a well-paid job. According to Statista, by 2020, the unemployed in Vietnam numbered over 2,2 million, of which university graduates made up three-quarters of the total.

In conclusion, I strongly claim that people have the right to choose any school they want to, not just a university. In addition, they should pay the tuition fee themselves, in order to manage their own future.