Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Helping people in need is one of the signs of love and sympathy, so many educational leaders have brought community service into the compulsory curriculum for students, especially at high school level. In my opinion, I firmly agree with this idea for some reasons below.

First and foremost, students should be taught about love and caring for the people around them, not only through words but also through real actions. In fact, it is a crucial step to help students build good personalities since more and more people have become indifferent and self-centered in modern times. In addition, they should learn to do good deeds even though it may not be financially beneficial. Through certain activities such as working as volunteers for a charity, teaching poor students languages in non-profit programs, or assisting the disabled people with shopping, students will understand the truth that the good deeds they do can be profitable in some unexpected ways.

Admittedly, it would be unnecessary to wait for the children to grow up maturely enough. Actually, not only high school level but also every level of education should be allowed to help needy people under the teachers's guidance. These activities mentioned can also create an ideal environment for students to practise establishing and maintaining their own social skills, such as commnunication skills, soft skills, and so on. Besides having new friends from these programs, students at all levels are able to keep themselves from the addictive means of modern entertainment, like Tiktok, since it has been proven to be extremely time-consuming.

All things considered, I firmly believe that unpaid community service should be widely applied at every level of education due to its educational advantages. Indeed, humanitarianism should be nurtured from very early age for the sake of a loving society.