In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many countries have witnessed the popularity of Western clothes in every single corner of their citizens’ lives, which causes the fear of potential replacement of traditional clothing. From my perspective, it can be considered to be an apparent progress for some reasons detailed below.

It is undeniable that, in comparison to traditional outfits, the western ones, with comfortable materials and an affordable price, enable people, regardless of their financial background, to purchase them. Some traditional clothes may not be made of skin-friendly materials, and their price could be higher than the average salary, so people could learn to wear western clothes as an alternative as a reasonable option for daily wear. Also, western outfits appear to dominate people’s everyday wear since the ways of dressing up with them are easy and capable, unlike the traditional ones. For example, it could take roughly 30 mins to wear a kimono, whereas putting on a T-shirt and jeans takes less than tenth of that time.

The popularity of western clothes also leads to another consequence: traditional costumes have become more adapted, in line with modern trends. Obviously, many fashion designers have been making great efforts to associate the old features with the new ones in an attempt to keep the traditional features from disappearing. For instance, in Vietnam, young fashion designers have been promoting their new design of “ao dai,” which is made of comfortable materials and used for many different occasions, such as Tet holidays, birthdays, dates, etc. In addition, modernizing traditional costumes gives them a better chance to introduce themselves to the world. Actually, this vision could never have been done if people had kept preserving their own traditional clothes in the old path.

All things considered, personally, I claim that the prevalence of western outfits is a positive development, since every benefit they bring to people’s lives is evident everywhere they come to.