Nowadays, young people admire sports stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Well-known athletes are believed to have been making bad models of their young admirers. In my opinion, nobody, including sports stars, is perfect. However, they have certainly had a significant impact on both individuals and society for a variety of reasons, which are detailed here.

According to many people, sports stars have powerfully influenced their young fans through their behaviors. To begin with, thanks to their sporty bodies, they could somewhat encourage their teenage fans to follow an appropriate exercise regimen in order to get fit or maintain a healthy body in a healthy mind, like their idols. As a result, these young admirers could spend more time at gyms or doing home workouts instead of staying in their sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, sports stars could be a good model for building a healthy and scientific eating habit. For example, Lebron James is said to inspire young people to follow the same strict diet as him, which is thought to be one of the many great keys that led to him winning the champions' seasons.

It is worth noting that famous athletes have also had a great impact on society through their good deeds, aside from successful sports careers. Firstly, their charitable models could raise awareness of caring for poor children and people in need all around the world. For example, Michael Phelps has annually spent millions of dollars on charity and voluntary missions. Secondly, some international sports stars have gotten into scandals. However, people can even learn something moral from there. To illustrate, many steroids scandals in MLB (Major League Baseball) have put an end to many baseball players’ careers, which reminds people to build a clean career based on honesty and fair-play.

To sum up, although there are still some dark sides in the lives and careers of many sports stars, I believe it cannot be denied that they have inspired young fans to have a good dream of their own and also show a way to achieve it.