In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People in many different countries and cultures have a strong belief in a stable life, which can be reflected by owning a house. There are some reasons behind this concept, and personally, I believe it would not be beneficial to the economy.

The main reason for this social phenomenon is that possessing a house would bring a strong sense of stability to the house owners. To prove this way of explanation, many people believe that a house could be saved as a potential mortgage in the future. Since the land area cannot be expanded anymore, the house built on a specific area of land will become more and more valuable as time goes by. Hence, spending a great amount of money on a house could be a smart investment for the future. Once owned, a house could be kept for a while until the owner seizes the chance to sell it for a good price.

From my perspective, I strongly believe that the real estate phenomenon could negatively affect the economy for some reason. One is that the house’s price can increase drastically because of the sense of owning a house. That being said, since a house could be an ideal investment, more and more people are likely to hunt for land and build a house there. Therefore, the price of houses will increase according to the law of the market. Moreover, despite unstoppable rising house prices, more and more people are becoming unable to afford a house, especially the unemployed. As a result, apparently, people will choose to rent a house weekly or monthly. Undoubtedly, this decision would not be a good long-term investment, but with their modest budget, this could be the best they could do.

All things considered, I claim that people should not prioritize owning a house since the economy and people’s budgets would not benefit from it. Instead, people should be mindful of considering their account in order to decide to either rent or own a house.