Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Human society has always been making progress, which is marked by old things called "legacy", in order to improve and innovate on what we already have. Traditions are said to be the greatest obstacle to new accomplishments. However, I firmly disagree with this statement for some reasons detailed below.

First and foremost, our customs and traditions undeniably identify and differentiate us from other people from other countries and cultures. By looking at some of our traditional features, such as local customs, festivals, and hereditary jobs, people will know the culture we belong to. Hence, in an international society like the one in which we are living, our traditions and cultures considerably contribute to our lives so that we will keep ourselves away from the massive assimilation of one world culture only, as globalization seems to impulse and incline us to live the same way and behave the same way despite our origins. If we lost our identities, as known as traditions, there would be no cultural diversity to distinguish from one another.

Therefore, traditions and customs can possibly exist with modernity in parallel. First, the legacies inherited over generations must be acknowledged by the following ones as if it were a grave matter. They should be taught about the good things done in the past in order to appreciate and preserve them. Moreover, with our limitless creativity, combining old traditional features with modern ones can be a great inspirational phenomenon for both natives and people all around the world. For example, besides the viral music video "How You Like That" by BLACKPINK, four stunning girls have made their reformed hanbok trendy all over South Korea and blown a new wind of change in their fashion factory.

All things considered, I don't think eliminating traditions over future innovation is a must. In fact, people can actually inherit and benefit from them, as well as protect them for the sake of our unique identities.