Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people are persuading others to be vegetarians or vegans like they are, because of some benefits of this eating habit. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this belief for some detailed reasons below.

There are two main reasons to prove why people should not be full-time vegetarians or vegans. One is that the human digestive system’s design is omnivorous, obviously. The human body can synthesize some types of vitamins but not all, and so can plants and animals. Hence, people need nutrients from both plants and animals in order to grow well. Consequently, plant-free nor meat-free diets could bring some serious health downsides. For example, according to a registered dietitian, Liz Weinandy, plant eaters are likely to have a ‘cholin crisis’, while meat eaters have a higher risk of heart disease than the plant eaters.

In addition, altering savoury-like menus for vegetarian diets is a delusion. One of its outcomes is that, due to their omnivorous nature, people end up deluding themselves into excluding meat from their meals to avoid the feeling of craving meat. Vegetarian foods become substitutes for savoury foods as much as possible. Moreover, since some vitamins can only be found in animals, alternative vitamins synthesized from bacteria are much more expensive and unaffordable for the average income. For example, the group of vitamins B, which are needed to process some chemicals such as lipid and protein, must be absorbed from dairy products, meat, and eggs. Therefore, instead of using these types of vitamins normally, people would pick alternative products with higher prices, which are totally unsuitable for long-term use.

To sum up, I think being a full-time vegetarian or vegan is not a good idea for everybody. We should balance the nutrients from both plants and animals in our meals, and begin to build a healthier diet and eating habit.