In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in many parts of the world, western styles of clothing are preferred to traditional ones. This trend happens because of some reasons, and I believe that it is a positive development.

There are two principal reasons for the growing popularity of western clothes worldwide. First, the influence of the media, particularly Hollywood films, is responsible for the tendency of youngsters to associate western clothes with a life of glamour and success. As a result, these images are now universally popularised and the name of brands such as Gucci, Nike and Versace are known almost everywhere. Second, Western clothes are suitable for modern working life. Denim overalls are practical and serviceable for those working with machines, while businessmen are expected by their employers to wear smart suits or uniforms based on Western designs.

I consider that this trend is largely positive. One positive aspect is that western clothes namely Jeans and T-shirts are versatile, which are worn for many work and leisure activities. People of all ages could feel comfortable to wear such western clothes. Additionally, since western styles have been mass-produced by the international clothing industry they are therefore increasingly affordable. The final aspect is that youngsters in developing nations could be more familiar with western cultures, which helps them integrate easier into the international community when they have the chance to work or study in developed countries.

In conclusion, the widespread adoption of western styles of clothing is a result of our modern way of life, and I believe that this trend has largely positive consequences