The mobile phone is used both for work and personal phone calls at all times of the day, every day of the week. Do you think this has more positive or negative effects both for individuals and society?

It is true that people have used mobile phones at any time both for work and personal purposes. While this trend might be negative to some extent, I would argue that it is more positive.

On the one hand, some people think that the overuse of mobile phones negatively influences individuals and society because of two reasons. First, people might prefer to use mobile phones to contact with friends or customers rather than arrange to meet them in person. This will lead to the lack of face to face contact, consequently diminishing the communication skills of these people. Second, the unthoughtful use of mobile phones by some people might distract other people from their tasks, and it is socially unacceptable. For example, making a phone call in a loud noise can interrupt a meeting and disturb other colleagues.

On the other hand, I believe that these devices facilitate people’s life and benefit society as a whole. One reason is that by using mobile phones, people will find it easy to keep in contact with people who are some distance away. For example, parents in Vietnam just need to pick up their phones to ask after their children studying oversea. Additionally, entrepreneurs argue that it is easier to conduct their business outside the office if customers or employers can contact them instantly by phone. With rapid transactions made possible by mobile phones, businesses can improve their efficiency of production, and then the whole economy is strengthened.

In conclusion, I believe that mobile phones have had a huge positive impact on society, despite their inconsiderate use by a minority.