Some people say that the government should increase the tax on petrol in order to decrease traffic and pollution. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that more tax should be imposed on petrol so as to lessen the traffic congestion and pollution issues. In my opinion, I concur with this perspective, and I would argue that other effective and feasible measures should be implemented simultaneously.

On the one hand, the policy of increasing the tax on petrol should be applied to reduce traffic and pollution. The reason for this is that the growth in the petrol price as a consequence of raising the tax rate would instantly decrease the demanding for petrol consumption which emits an enormous amount of air pollutants such as CO2 or SO2 into the air. This ultimately alleviates air pollution problems in many major cities. Additionally, since the higher price of petrol encourages citizens to use public transport including buses and subway, which is far more affordable than using their private cars, the number of vehicles on the road, the primary cause of traffic jam, would apparently decline.

On the other hand, the government also need to have other long-term schemes for tackling these problems. First, the development of alternative energy resources which are of no harm to the environment should be given high priority in order to largely replace fossil fuels in the long run. This is exemplified in Germany where the government has extended the scale of clean energy generation so massively that their inhabitants can use green energy for free. Second, the strategy for town planning is advised to be carefully done, helping to ease traffic within the city. For instance, some universities in Vietnam are moved to the suburbs to relieve the overcrowding on the downtown roads at rush hours.

In conclusion, while higher tax imposition on petrol could be seen as an effective method to solve traffic and pollution issues, I believe that renewable energy and long-term urban planning need to be seriously focused to prevent the problems in the future.