Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

Although riding a bicycle is a better way to protect the environment than using other types of vehicles, not many people around the world prefer to use this means of transport. This problem happens because of some reasons, and some effective solutions should be proposed to promote the usage of bicycles.

There are several reasons why few people choose to use bicycles to travel on a regular basis. First, since the development of technology has provided people with a variety of convenient forms of transport, many people choose to travel by motorbike or car which is far faster and less physical demanding than riding a bicycle. Additionally, because people in many regions do not pay much attention to the protection of the environment, they use cars and motorbikes as a matter of routine without worrying much about the adverse impact of air pollutants emitted from using these vehicles on the environment.

Several measures should be implemented to encourage more people to cycle regularly. The first solution would be to make it more costly to use a car or a motorbike. This can be done by increasing the price of petrol or impose more tax on these vehicles. As a result, more people would choose bicycles as their primary means of transport. In addition, more lands should be reserved only for cyclists, which would make it faster to travel by bicycle. The final method is for the government to launch campaigns to raise citizen’s awareness of the harmful effects of traveling by cars or motorbikes, then more people might switch to use bicycles.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world, and solutions need to be taken to increase the popularity of this environmentally friendly means of transport