International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country that they visited. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the significant growth of the global tourist industry has brought many advantages to both travelers and the host nations. While this development could be negative to some extent, I would argue that its positive sides are greater.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why international travel has several disadvantages. In terms of tourists themselves, they might find that the prices of many goods or services in the oversea destinations are grossly inflated. Especially, those not having much experience of international travel could be overcharged for everything from a taxi or a meal. In terms of the countries where tourists visited, the booming of the tourist industry raises the problem of waste disposal and pollution which remarkably damages the environment. For example, a huge amount of plastic waste left behind by tourists has increasingly polluted the marine environment along the coastline in Vietnam.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that international travel has more advantages. One reason is that when traveling oversea, people have the chance to experience a brand-new customs and traditions, which broadens their knowledge of cultural diversity around the world. Having visited England, I could be partly alive to the spirit of the Christmas that British people celebrate. Additionally, international travel could improve local life, creating thousands of jobs for the locals who used to struggle to make ends meet. For instance, people in some traditional villages in my country can earn decent money by selling their products to foreigners

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of international travel for both travelers and host countries are greater than the drawbacks.