In the future, it seems it will be more difficult to live on the earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that more budget should be allocated to finding other planets to live since life on the earth is increasingly difficult. While I agree that living on the earth becomes more and more unsustainable, I disagree with the idea of pouring more money on researching other planets to sustain human life.

People nowadays encounter more challenges to live because of continuous climate change and polluted environment. First, climate change, as a consequence of global warming, triggers more extreme weather events namely floods, hurricanes and prolonged heatwaves, which might kill hundreds of people in some devastating cases. If the global warming continues at this current alarming rate, it could be predicted to be even more adverse. Second, the rising level of pollution is another concern, especially happened in big cities where there are high population densities. For example, there is a vast amount of toxic fumes polluting the environment emitted from thousands of vehicles or heavy industry plants around the city.

However, I would argue that searching for new habitable planets to sustain people should be given low priority, aiming to save resources for other solutions for the above environmental problems. It is apparent that because of the finiteness of human resources, the more people spend on space exploration with no guarantee of success, the less they expend on more urgent measures to improve current human life on the earth. Hence, Budget should be spent first on providing good health and education service. The second priority would be to invest in advanced technology as renewable energy generation, which is a practical method to significantly alleviate the global warming rate.

In conclusion, spending money on tackling environmental problems on the earth must have more priority than on space exploration for new habitats.