Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is lack of qualified workers such as electrocians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there is a shortage of qualified workers since people prefer going to universities rather than vocational schools. While I concede the importance role of universities, I agree with the idea that we should encourage more people to become qualified workers.

There is a ground supporting the view of scholastic pursuit at universities. The principle role of academic study is to provide students with a solid foundation of skills and knowledge related to a broad area of study. The depth and breadth of the knowledge which students take advantage of would promote their critical thinking and creative ability, in order to find specific solutions for certain complicated problems that they encounter in the working process. For example, being an economist bachelor, I usually apply general economic theories that I learned from my university in to specific discussion with my senior manager on monthly plan analysis.

However, I am convinced that vocational training should be recognized as a key to the workforce supply because it benefits both people and authorities. First, if students decide to follow technical education, they can increase their employability and likelihood of finding a job, especially in the current competitive working environment where there is a redundancy of bachelors and engineers. In contrast to general theories and principal from universities, vocational knowledge is designed to help people go directly into their new job, which also might increase their salaries in a shorter time. Second, more people become qualified workers could balance demand and supply of workforce, ultimately reducing burden on the government budget since it reduces unemployment rate, increase budget from tax income and decrease unemployment benefit.

In conclusion, more people should go to vocational school to fill the shortage of qualified workers in the current workforce.