Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that all youngsters should study at school until they are 18. While staying at school could bring about several benefits, I would argue that it does not suit every individual.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people under the age of 18 should study at school. First, by pursuing high education, students could gain a wealth of knowledge and skills which will enhance their likelihood of having decent jobs when entering the labour market. If students leave school too early, they might struggle to compete with other well-educated people in term of skilled works. Second, social and moral education given by schools to adolescents who are still immature could enhance their intellectual capacity. This ability helps students to distinguish between right and wrong behaviors. If youngsters are not educated well enough, they might easily commit illegal actions.

On the other hand, I believe that it is unreasonable to force everyone under 18 to stay at school. One reason is that the skills and knowledge learned at school are not the best for every people. For example, a person who wants to be a chief might find better training and more satisfaction from a cooking class or on-the-job training. Hence, it is a waste of time to require this person to study at school. Additionally, people from underprivileged families have to give up on their studies to support their parents. If these people are forcibly obliged to study, the burden on their families’ budgets could significantly increase.

In conclusion, while the continuing study at school leads to several merits, I believe that it is not practical for everyone.