International community must act immediately to ensure all nations to reduce their consumption of fossil fuels e.g. gas and oil

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that international community must take immediate action to make sure all countries to reduce the amount of fossil fuel burned for energy. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea because alternative energy resources, that are used to lessen negative impacts of fossil fuels on the natural environment, are increasingly available.

Excessive consumption of fossils fuels results in environmental degradation, including global warming and natural resource depletion. First, Carbon dioxide, which is believed to be the principal cause of climate change over the years, emitted from the process of using fossil fuels. Global warming as a consequence of the high concentration of CO2 in the atmosphere triggers more extreme weather events namely floods, hurricanes and prolonged heatwaves. Second, natural resource shortage should be significantly considered where natural resources are being exploited and used in an uncontrolled way. Hence, cutting down on CO2 emission by reducing the dependence on fossil fuels is the most effective method for alleviating such environmental problems.

International policies encouraging all countries to utilize alternative energy resources are more feasible. A growing number of people worldwide are able to use renewable resources with a reasonable price thanks to the fact that generation of the energy is much more productive. For example, it is unreliable that German government has recently planned to pay customers for electricity usage as windfarm creates huge power surplus. However, in contrast with Germany and other developed countries, developing nations encounter economic and technological challenges when they construct energy generation systems. Therefore, aid package from rich countries should be provided in order to ensure all nations to reduce simultaneously their consumption of fossil fuels.

In conclusion, I completely advocate with the idea that global community has to act urgently to reduce the fossil fuel consumption.