There have been many inventions in human history, such as wheel. Some people think that the most important thing is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there have been many innovative technologies which have profoundly changed the course of human history. While some people think that the invention of the internet is the most significant event, I would argue that other discoveries are far more crucial.

On the one hand, the internet has a great impact on many vital aspects of human life. One consideration is that the internet facilitates the dissemination of information, allowing people to pass on ideas worldwide. It is exemplified by the social network Facebook which acts as a virtual platform helping people spread their ideas whenever and wherever they want without any geographic boundary. Additionally, thanks to the internet, people find it easy to keep in contact with people who are some distance away. For instance, parents in Vietnam can make a video call via Facetime app to ask after the health of their children studying oversea.

On the other hand, other discoveries have played more vital roles in the rise of human being as the most successful species on Earth. The first is electricity which laid the foundation for many subsequent inventions, and the internet and computers were of no exception. In other words, the internet would not exist if there were no electricity. The second is steam engines which have tremendous enhanced productivity and have driven the industrial revolutions. The final and most important invention, from my point of view, is paper. This fosters the transmission of knowledge from generation to generation. As a result, human being has been becoming more knowledgeable and intelligent.

In conclusion, although the internet has several enormous advantages for the human race, I believe that there have been more significant discoveries contributing to human development.