University students should pay all the costs of their studies because university education benefits only individuals but not society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that students should be wholly responsible for their tuition payment since tertiary education is beneficial to only them but not society. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this perspective because study costs should be shared by the government and students so as to guarantee the benefits of individuals and society as a whole.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why tuition fees are advised to be partly paid by students. First, having to spend their own money on learning, students would be aware of the value of the study programs that they are pursuing. This perception could stimulate students to study more attentively and labourously so as to pay off their money. Second, the student’s imbursement can ease onus on national resources which are really urgently invested in a broad spectrum of such vital fields as healthcare system or the environment so as to improve the living standard of citizens at large.

On the other hand, the government subsidy for tertiary education also benefits people and society. The first reason is that due to the increasing expensiveness of university education that many people from poor backgrounds can not afford, the funding from the government help more impoverished people attend universities. As a result, they could have well-paid jobs as doctors or lawyers after graduating, earning enough money to help their families overcome poverty. Additionally, since more people will follow higher education if the education fees reduced, the quality of the workforce of a nation would be enhanced. The high standard of human resources undoubtedly ensures the stable development of the entire nation.

In conclusion, the cost of studying at university should be paid by both students and the government because university education brings about considerable merits not only to students but society as a whole.