It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is true that there is a lack of students who opt to study science subjects at universities and colleges. This problem happens because of some reasons, and it can have several adverse impacts on society.

There are several grounds why few students choose to pursue science as their major. First, as science subjects are often perceived as demanding in terms of both workload and intellectual content, many students are so reluctant to embark on biology, physics or chemistry. Instead, many of them decide to study business or finance which seem to be less challenging to follow. Second, in many countries, the salary level of people working in science areas might be generally less than that of those who are finance officers or bankers. As a result, science sectors become less attractive, which discourages students to follow them at university.

A shortage of learners in science fields can result in some negative effects. The first impact is that there will be an imbalance in the future workforce. To be more specific, while there would be a serious shortage of labour in science jobs, human resources in other sectors could become increasingly redundant. Consequently, this could raise the unemployment rate, and increase the burden on society. Additionally, a decrease in the workforce for science areas could restrain the national development in technology, which is believed to be a top priority of any nation these days. This less innovation will not guarantee the long term and sustainable development of a nation.

In conclusion, fewer students choose to study science subjects because of the aforementioned reasons, and this problem could lead to several adverse impacts on society.