Some people think it is more important for the government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the government should allocate more public budget to encouraging people to live healthily. While this would raise the public health, I disagree with the idea that this is a higher priority than the treatment of sufferers from illness.

It is apparent that the promotion of healthy lifestyle benefits both citizens and the government. First, merely by participating in the healthy living program do people reduce significantly the risk of developing several illnesses such as flu and obesity. The programme is increasingly important to promote people when nowadays they are so caught up in the pressure of work or study that they neglect the importance of keeping fit. Second, the public money spending on treatment of patients will be reduced since the programme decreases the number of people suffering from illness, ultimately resulting in lessening the burden on the government budget in the long run.

However, in the process of decision-making on health master, I would argue that public budget is advised to spend first on the treatment of people already being ill. It seems to be more equitable to invest considerably in health care system to cure patients of disease in which unhealthy lifestyle is not a cause. For example, people contracting some form of cancer developing as a consequence of polluted environment need to be treated in an advanced health system. Additionally, Thanks to financial support from the government, apart from curing patients, scientists can also research new medical inventions to treat or prevent serious diseases. It is more practical in the current situation where people are struggling to find against antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

In conclusion, while promoting healthy living is important, treatment must have priority in health service spending.