In many countries, governments are spending a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

In many parts of the world, huge proportions of national budgets are being poured into the amelioration of internet access. This trend happens because of some reasons, and I would argue that it is not the best way to use state money.

There are two principal reasons why the improvement of the internet is given top priority in many countries. First, more people would have the chance to have omnipresent access to the wealth of information available on the internet. As a result, inhabitants would be better informed and more highly educated. Second, an improved internet supply could facilitate the operation of organizations, promoting their development. For example, companies find it easier to manage their operation online such as approaching their customers, managing their employees, and carrying out transactions with international partners. In the long run, the growth of such companies makes a great contribution to the thriving of national economies.

I would argue that upgrading the internet is not the most reasonable measure to spend state money. One consideration is that the broadband connection in many countries is fast enough to satisfy the basic demand of the public. For instance, hardly do individuals in Vietnam have to wait a long time for a web page to load, and online business meetings even became popular years ago. The improvement of the internet, therefore, can be deemed not obligatory and urgent in many countries like Vietnam. Additionally, there are other fields that are being placed under strain and require capital disbursements to function. To illustrate, a number of state hospitals in Vietnam have been conducting research on a cure for cancer, and it seems that this should be the top investment priority.

In conclusion, there are two main explanations for governments' special attention to upgrading the internet, and I think it is not the most optional measure to allocate national budgets.