The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

It is true that the fierce competition in the job market between old people and their younger counterparts has become a widespread concern. This tendency has resulted in some problems, and effective solutions should be proposed to tackle these issues.

To begin with, the older generation has to encounter two main issues. First, due to age discrimination, older people often suffer more disadvantages when seeking the same positions as young candidates, even when they have similar abilities and qualifications. As a result, s number of them become unemployed, being unable to make ends meet and support their families. Second, old employees might be under strong pressure, which arises because their young colleagues seem to be more creative and adaptable to change in the workplace then they could do. These pressures might lead to both physical and psychological problems, including heart disease and depression.

Since such issues are serious, the government and individuals should take steps to address these problems. The first solution would be for the government to apply the labor law that prevents age discrimination in the workplace, which would give older people greater opportunities to find suitable jobs and earn a living. In addition to this, older employees should be willing to update their skills by attending extra training courses. If young colleagues also help them to adapt to changes in the working environment, older workers will gain confidence and improve their work performance.

In conclusion, the increasing competition between the old and the young in the labor market leads to several negative effects, and several actions need to be taken to address these issues, not only by the government but individuals.